Careless Driving Florida Ticket Penalties Careless Driving Law

Go to content

Main menu:

Custom Search

Careless Driving Florida Statute 316.1925

316.1925  Florida Careless Driving

(1)  Any person operating a vehicle upon the streets or highways within the state shall drive the same in a careful and prudent manner, having regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and all other attendant circumstances, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.

Failure to drive in such manner shall constitute careless driving and a violation of this section.

(2)  Any person who violates this section shall be cited for a moving violation, punishable as provided in chapter 318.


Careless driving in Florida is a non-criminal traffic infraction. As long as you sign the citation and have not committed any other illegal act you will not go to jail for careless driving.

The maximum penalty
by law is $500 fine plus court cost if adjudicated guilty. The minimum fine usually ends up a little over $160.

The biggest cost with a Florida careless driving ticket is not the fine but is the long term cost of increased insurance. An experienced careless driving attorney can advocate for you to protect your rights and can negotiate for you to obtain a withhold of adjudication if the case cannot be won.

If the citation is paid you will be adjudicated guilty and have 4 points assessed to your license. If property damage did not occur by simply getting a withhold of adjudication on your Florida careless driving ticket your insurance will not increase.

To get a withhold of adjudication you have to either take a driver's improvement class, go to court or hire an attorney to go to court for you. If you hire an attorney your presence can be waived so you do not have to appear in court.

It might go against human nature that cooperation gets you nearly the worst possible result for your Florida careless driving case. That is what happens with a Florida traffic infraction. It might feel like paying the ticket makes it go away but the reality is that paying the Florida careless driving ticket makes it stay. Once the ticket is paid and the points are assessed then your insurance rates can potentially increase for years. The reality is going to court and either beating the careless driving citation or negotiating a withhold of adjudication makes it go away once you pay. As long as property damage did not occur then your insurance can not increase if adjudication is withheld.

The content of this site was generated by a Daytona Beach DUI attorney who focuses his practice on Florida traffic offenses and criminal defense. This site is not intended to serve as legal advice or substitute the services of an attorney for your careless driving case. The site is designed to compile information about Florida careless driving case law, statute, defenses, penalties and traffic court procedures. It should be viewed as an information resource and should not be used as a substitute for a careless driving attorney. The site was designed by St Louis Orthopedic Surgeon.

Careless Driving Florida Statute 316.1925

Back to content | Back to main menu