Volusia County Reckless Driving Attorney - Careless Driving Florida Ticket Penalties Careless Driving Law

Go to content

Main menu:

Volusia County Reckless Driving Attorney

Locations > Reckless Driving

The Law Offices Of Kevin J. Pitts

Volusia County Call 386-451-5112 Seminole County 407-268-3688

Volusia County Reckless Driving Attorney

A Volusia County reckless driving ticket is not your ordinary citation that can be paid at the clerk of court. Reckless driving is a criminal traffic citation that is classified as a second degree misdemeanor. Reckless driving is punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail, 6 months of probation, 4 points on your license, cost of prosecution, cost of investigation, 4 hour driver improvement class and a $500 fine plus court cost. This classifies reckless driving a hybrid misdemeanor because the 90 day maximum jail sentence exceeds the 60 day statutory maximum sentence for a second degree misdemeanor. DUI is another example of a hybrid second degree misdemeanor in Florida. If the judge believes alcohol contributed to the reckless driving they can require the driver to complete a DUI class. If the driver does not complete the class their driver’s license will be suspended. If the driver has a prior reckless driving conviction they can be sentenced to 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine plus court cost. Being convicted of a DeLand reckless driving also prevents the accused from ever sealing or expunging their record. That means a criminal record for the rest of your life. Fortunately Volusia County reckless driving cases have defenses. The state must prove that the driving endangered person or property and that the bad driving was willful. Negligence is sufficient for careless driving but not for the criminal charge of reckless driving in Volusia County. Speeding alone is not reckless driving if the driver does not endanger person or property. Swerving without endangering others has been considered insufficient for a reckless driving conviction. If you are accused of reckless driving call Volusia County reckless driving attorney Kevin J. Pitts at 386-451-5112 for a a free consultation.

Back to content | Back to main menu